AWCON Qualifier: NFF Names 40-year-old Onome Ebi In 24 Falcons Squad To Face Sao Tome and Principe

AWCON Qualifier: NFF Names 40-year-old Onome Ebi In 24 Falcons Squad To Face Sao Tome and Principe

 11,565 total views,  3 views today

By Our Correspondent

The Nigeria Football Federation, NFF has listed 40-year-old Onome Ebi among the 24 Super Falcons players to face Sao Tome and Principe in the Super Falcons Squad to face Sao Tome and Principe in the first leg if the 2024 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations, AWCON qualifier on Friday next week

The release on Friday listed goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie, midfielder Rasheedat Ajibade and forward Asisat Oshoala among the players invited to the Super Falcons’ camp.

The Super Falcons do not have a coach currently as the federation and former handler, Randy Waldrum are still in negations over the extension of his contract which expired in August

Onome who is the captain of the team made only one substitute appearance at the Australia and New Zealand World Cup in July. NFF Names her as a player of Nigeria Women’s Football League NWFL side, Naija Ratels FC of Abuja.

Also on the roster are captain Onome Ebi, defenders Oluwatosin Demehin, Michelle Alozie and Rofiat Imuran, midfielders Rasheedat Ajibade and Toni Payne, and forwards Ifeoma Onumonu, Vivian Ikechukwu and Gift Monday.

Nine-time African champions Nigeria will host the Sao Tome and Principe girls at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena on Friday, 22nd September, with the return leg scheduled for Tuesday, 26th September.

The winner of this fixture will be eligible to confront the winner of another first round fixture between Cape Verde and Liberia, at the second-round stage slated for the period 27th November – 5th December.

Morocco, which hosted last year’s edition of the continental showpiece, will again host next year’s spectacle.


Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia); Monle Oyono (Bayelsa Queens)

Defenders: Onome Ebi (Naija Ratels); Akudo Ogbonna (Remo Stars Ladies); Comfort Folorunsho (Edo Queens); Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Nicole Payne (Paris Saint Germain, France); Jumoke Alani (Edo Queens); Rofiat Imuran (Stade de Reims, France)

Midfielders: Peace Efih (Sporting Club de Braga, Portugal); Esther Onyenezide (FC Robo Queens); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Regina Otu (AS Saint Etienne, France)

Forwards: Flourish Sebastine (Bayelsa Queens); Ifeoma Onumonu (NY/NJ Gotham FC, USA); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona Feminine, Spain); Vivian Ikechukwu.

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a Reply

Translate »