CAF WCL: ASFAR Thrash Mamelodi Sundowns 4-0 To Emerge New Champions … Bayelsa Queens Win Fair Play Award

CAF WCL: ASFAR Thrash Mamelodi Sundowns 4-0 To Emerge New Champions              … Bayelsa Queens Win Fair Play Award

 1,028 total views,  3 views today

By Amaechi Agbo

Moroccan side, ASFAR on Sunday emerged first-time CAF Women’s Champions League winners after beating nine-woman holders Mamelodi Sundowns 4-0 in the night at Stade Prince Moulay Abdellah

The Moroccan and South African giants made an even start to the final rematch at the same venue their national teams met in July, with Chuene Morifi and Bambanani Mbane’s long-range efforts in the fifth minute moments before Jraidi’s attempt.

Zanele Nhlapho brought Zineb Redouani down inside the area to gift the hosts a penalty and Fatima Tagnaout made no mistakes converting from the spot to open the scoring for ASFAR in the 15th minute.

Having found themselves behind for the first time in consecutive editions, the miseries of Jerry Tshabalala’s ladies were further compounded when Rhoda Mulaudzi was handed the marching order on the half hour mark after a poor challenge on Redouani.

The hosts threatened to double their lead through Ahmamou Douha but her weak effort inside the area could not trouble keeper Andile Dlamini four minutes from the half time break.

The Moroccans came back into the contest on a high as they almost earn their second of the match when Aziza Rabbah’s header came off the crossbar three minutes after the restart.

The South Africans were further reduced to nine players after captain Nhlapho picked her second booking of the match following a poor challenge on Redouani in the 52nd minute.

The second breakthrough came for Mohamed Amine Alioua’s ladies from the resulting freekick when Tagnaout brilliantly teed up Jraidi to power home from inside the area two minutes later.

Ibtissam Jraidi of ASFAR is congratulated for scoring a goal during the 2022 CAF Women’s Champions Final match between ASFAR and Mamelodi Sundowns held at the Prince Moulay El Hassan Stadium in Rabat, Morocco
Despite being two-player down, the South Africans pushed for a comeback through Lelona Daweti and Melinda but the duo could not make the best of their half chances.

Bayelsa Queens won Fair Play Award

The hosts were done yet as Jraidi fired past Dlamini to notch the third in the 87th minute before bagging the treble at the death to complete the rout in sweet revenge for the Atlas Lionesses Women’s Africa Cup of Nations title loss to Banyana Banyana in July.

Meanwhile, ASFAR forward Ibtissam Jraidi was named Woman of the Match for the third time in the competition, following her remarkable treble inspired her side to a ruthless triumph over the Cup holders.

ASFAR trio, Fatima Tagnaout, keeper Khadija Er-rmichi and forward Ibtissam Jraidi took the top honours at the CAF Women’s Champions League 2022 individual awards.
Tagnaout, the Moroccan midfielder, was voted the CAF Women’s Champions League Best Player of the Tournament for her influential role during the competition.

Tagnaout scored the opening goal from the spot and provided a hat-trick of assists that ensured that ASFAR silenced the South African side to be crowned African champions at Stade Prince Moulay Abdellah on Sunday night, November 13, 2022.

Er-rmichi, the Moroccan club keeper, who was edged to the WCL Egypt 2021 and WAFCON 2022 awards by Andile Dlamini got her sweet revenge as she helped ASFAR claim their first ever title, walked away with the Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament.

Jraidi, once again showed her clinical strength and superb finish techniques with six goals to claim the Golden Boot.

The CAF Fair Play Award went to Nigeria’s Bayelsa Queens, who won the bronze medal on their maiden appearance after 1-0 victory over Simba Queens in the third place match, while the Team of the Tournament went to ASFAR following their triumph.

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a Reply

Translate »
error: Content is protected !!