CONFIRMED: Dennerby Did Not Prepare Falcons List For Cote’d’Voire Olympic Qualifiers

CONFIRMED: Dennerby Did Not Prepare Falcons List For Cote’d’Voire Olympic Qualifiers

By Amaechi Agbo can confirm that former Super Falcons coach, Thomas Dennerby was not the one who prepared the list of invited players ahead of the two-legged second round 2020 Olympic football qualifier against Cote’d’Voire.

The Nigeria Football Federation, NFF on September 13 published the names of invited players for the qualifiers with many questioning why the captain of the side, Desire Oparanozie was excluded from the list of 7 oversee players for the match.

The exclusion of the captain has raised eyebrows in some quarters with many arguing that the list is a suspect.

Best Choice Sports findings indicate that Coach Thomas Dennerby did not prepare the list as he left the team immediately after the second leg qualifiers against Algeria in Lagos under acrimonious circumstances.

An insider in the federation told this paper that if indeed Thomas Dennerby prepared the list, there is no way the captain of the team could be left out.

“I can confidently tell you that the list was not prepared by the coach (Thomas Dennerby). Someone else did but I do not know. You cannot have a match of this magnitude and yet not invite your team captain.

“This tells you that NFF is divided. Some persons frustrated the coach. They did not allow him to invite players he needs and they would want to impose players on him. This is some of the reasons he abandoned the team,” the source said anonymously.

NFF on Thursday release the list of 30 home-based players and 7 oversee players for the second round qualifier against Cote d’Voire on the 30th September and 6 October

The list of the invited players include:

Goalkeepers: Christy Ohiaeriaku (Delta Queens); Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Onyinyechukwu Okeke (Bayelsa Queens); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels)

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels); Opeyemi Sunday (Sunshine Queens); Abidemi Ibe (Bayelsa Queens); Ugochi Emenayo (Nasarawa Amazons); Margaret Etim (Rivers Angels); Maryam Ibrahim (Nasarawa Amazons); Mary Ologbosere (Rivers Angels); Blessing Edoho (Ibom Angels); Tosin Dimeyin (Sunshine Queens)

Midfielders: Osarenoma Igbinovia (Bayelsa Queens); Ihuoma Onyebuchi (Sunshine Queens); Folashade Ijamilusi (FC Robo); Suliat Abideen (Sunshine Queens); Josephine Mathias (Rivers Angels); Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Regina Otu (Edo Queens); Cecilia Nku (Rivers Angels)

Forwards: Adejoke Ejalonibu (Nasarawa Amazons); Rafiat Sule (Rivers Angels); Tessy Biahwo (Bayelsa Queens); Alice Ogebe (Rivers Angels); Aloko Abdulkareem (Nasarawa Amazons); Gift Monday (FC Robo); Lola Philips (Nasarawa Amazons); Titilayo Aweda (Confluence Queens); Cynthia Aku (Rivers Angels)


Rasheedat Ajibade (Avaldsnes, Norway); Osinachi Ohale (CD Tacon, Spain); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskilstuna DFF, Sweden); Francisca Ordega (Shanghai Zyhongyuan, China); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain); Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); Chidinma Okeke (Madrid CFF, Spain)

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a Reply

Translate »