Ighalo, Ndidi, Osimhen, Salah, Mane, Nominated For 2019 African Player Of The Year

Ighalo, Ndidi, Osimhen, Salah, Mane, Nominated For 2019 African Player Of The Year

Three Nigeria players, Odion Ighalo, Victor Osimhen and Wilfred Ndidi have been shortlisted for the 2019 Africa Footballer of the Year, Bestchoicesports.com.ng can report.

The thrio were nominated among the first 30 shortlist along with current holder, Mohammed Salah, 2018 runner up Sadio Mane and former holder Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

Africa football governing body, CAF, Sunday released the list of nominees for the 28th edition of its annual football awards which will take place on Tuesday, 7 January 2020, at Citadel Azure, Hurghada, Egypt.

The CAF awards celebrate African footballers and officials who have distinguished themselves during 2019.

The list of nominees is compiled by a panel of media and technical professionals. It features several award categories for men’s and women’s football including: African Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Youth Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, Goal of the Year, Africa Finest XI, Federation of the Year and several new award categories which will recognise exceptional contributions to African football and inspiring individuals.

The Interclubs Player of the Year Award has been reintroduced and will be dedicated to honouring key actors in CAF’s club competitions.

Full list of nominees for African Player of the Year 2019 include:

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)

André Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)

Baghdad Bounedjah (Algeria& Al-Sadd)

Carolus Andriamatsinoro (Madagascar & Al Adalah)

Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Cameroon & Paris Saint-Germain)

Ferjani Sassi(Tunisia & Zamalek)

Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)

Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Paris Saint-Germain)

Ismail Bennacer (Algeria & AC Milan)

Jordan Ayew (Ghana & Crystal Palace)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)

Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo & Al Ain)

Mahmoud Hassan”Trezeguet” (Egypt & Aston Villa)

Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania & Genk)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)

Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)

Nicolas Pepe (Côte d’Ivoire & Arsenal)

Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Shanghai Shenhua)

Percy Tau (South Africa & Club Brugge)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)

Thomas Teye Partey (Ghana & Atlético Madrid)

Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille)

Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City)

Wilfried Zaha (Côte d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace)

Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Ahli Jeddah)

The list will be reduced to 10 and later cut down to the final three players who will contest for the highest football honour to a player from Africa continent.

Kanu Nwankwo, Victor Ikpeba and Emmanuel Amuneke among others, were past Nigeria winners of the prestigious award.

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a reply translated

Translate »