AU Sports Council Region 2 Signs Headquarter Agreement With Nigeria Government

AU Sports Council Region 2 Signs Headquarter Agreement With Nigeria Government

 300 total views,  2 views today

By Amaechi Agbo

The Africa Union Sports Council region, AUSC 2 on Tuesday signed headquarter agreement with the federal government of Nigeria in Abuja.

The agreement signing was carried out by representatives of the federal government of Nigeria and the General Manager of the AUSC Region 2.

Nigeria government was represented by the Permanent Secretaries ministries of Foreign Affairs and that of South and Sports Development, Amb. Mustapha Suleiman Lawal and Mr Olusade Adesola respectively.

In their various speeches, the permanent secretaries appreciated the privileged given to Nigeria to be host the headquarters of the AUSC Region too but opined that the privileges also come with responsibilities which the federal government will not shy away from.

Speaking in an interview, the General Manager, AUSC Region 2, Mr Caleb Gidado said the agreement signing is a landmark development. He noted that with the agreement signed, the establishment and choice of Abuja, Nigeria’s capital as the headquarters of the AUSC Region 2 has been cemented.

Mr Gidado said that the agreement has brought to an end years of discussions and arrangements on the AUSC Region headquarters adding that the agreement has also conferred on the Africa Union Sports Region 2 all diplomatic privileges.

“Today (Tuesday) is historic to us. It is a day of history because with this agreement signed, the discussions on concerning the headquarters of the AUSC Region has been put to rest.

“Also with this agreement, all diplomatic privileges enjoyed by other foreign bodies in the country are conferred on the AUSC Region 2.

“We are gretaful to the Federal Government of Nigeria for this historic event,” he said.

Africa Union Sports Council Region 2 comprises all the West Africa subregio countries.

The signing of Headquarter Agreement  between the African Union Sports Council (AUSC) Region 2, West Africa and the Federal Republic of Nigeria at the Ministry of  Foreign Affairs in Abuja today 26th November 2019.

At the wake of the reforms that transformed the then Organisation of Africa Unity, OAU to Africa Union AU, a new wrchtechure for sports in Africa also evolved.

This saw the desolution of the then Supreme Council of Sports in Africa (SCSA) which ahd 7 zones and the emergence of the Africa Union Sports Council (AUSC) with 5 regions:

Region 1 – North Africa with headquarters in Algiers; Region 2 – West Africa with headquarters in Abuja; Region 3 – Central Africa with headquarters in Brazzaville; Region 4 – East Africa with headquarters in Kigali and Region 5- South Africa headquartered in Gaborone.

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a Reply

Translate »