FIFA U-17 World Cup: Nigeria Battles Germany, Chile, New Zealand In Group B

FIFA U-17 World Cup: Nigeria Battles Germany, Chile, New Zealand In Group B

 1,453 total views,  3 views today

By Our Correspondent

Nigeria’s national female U-17 team, the Flamingoes will tackle world power, Germany, Chile as well as New Zealand in Group B of the 2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup, can report.

The Bankole Olowookere-led teenagers who qualified for the tournament without concedeing a goal in six matches, will seek to navigate the group if they are to win the competition first time.

Host country, India were drawn in Group A alongside USA, Morocco and Brazil. The opening match of the tournament will be India vs USA in Bhubaneswar on October 11. Top two teams from the four groups will go through to the quarterfinals.

Nigeria’s fellow African representatives, Morocco and Tanzania are drawn in Group A and D. Morocco will face host, India, USA and Brazil while Tanzania will need to navigate the hurdles possed by Canada, France and Japan if they are to make further impact in the tournament.

India hosted the FIFA U-17 World Cup for the boys in 2018 and were slated to host the girls’ event two years ago, but the covid-19 pandemic aborted that, necessitating a postponement and scaling down of the original host cities to three.

The Flamingos, who have featured in every tournament since 2008 bar the 2018 edition staged by Uruguay, prevailed over the Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt and Ethiopia on the African continent to land in India.

The 2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup will begin on 11 through 30 October

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a Reply

Translate »