Niger Tornadoes’ Duo, Idris, Babaji Get U-20 National Team Call Up

Niger Tornadoes’ Duo, Idris, Babaji Get U-20 National Team Call Up

 677 total views,  3 views today

By Our Correspondent

Niger Tornadoes enterprising winger Munir Idris and left back Abubakar Babaji were extended invites by the National U20 Flying Eagles Technical Crew alongside other 38 players as the team prapares for next month’s WAFU B U-20 Championship billed to take place in Niamey, capital of Niger Republic

Munir Idris is Niger Tornadoes kid sensation and Abubakar Bala Mohammed’s latest discovery, the winger helped Niger Tornadoes clinched NPFL ticked last season when he scored a decisive late minute goal against El-Kanemi Warriors during the NNL Super 8 play off in Enugu to hand the Ikon Allah Boys the initiative in picking the NFPL promotion ticket. The young lad has also contributed two goals and assist in his debut NPFL season for his team thus far, the two goals were scored at the National Stadium in Abuja; Tornadoes second goal against 3SC and a last gasp winner against Sunshine Stars.

Abubakar Babaji is a natural left full back, young, agile and energetic also a dead ball specialist. He joined from Adamawa United last season.

Our prayers are with the dou to make the final shortlist to represent the country in the Championship proper.

The invited players are to arrive at the Blue Spring Hotel, opposite Ministry of Justice, Maitama, Abuja, today, Monday, 18th April, with their International Passports.

Seven-time African Champions, the Flying Eagles, will play in Group B of the WAFU B Championship alongside Ghana and Burkina Faso, with the Tournament scheduled to run from 7th-20th May, 2022, in Niamey.

Hosts, Niger Republic, Cote d’Ivoire, Togo and Benin Republic will battle in Group A.

Only the two finalists will qualify from the WAFU B zone to participate in the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations.


GOALKEEPERS: Orya Joseph (Lobi Stars); Nathaniel Nwosu (Water FC); Jimoh Saheed (Adoration FC); Chijioke Anianboso (Giant Brillars).

DEFENDERS: Njoke Augustine (Abia Warriors); Gabriel Adewara (Ikorodu United); Babaji Abubakar ( Niger Tornadoes); Okoli Augustine (Giant Brillars); Hassan Shuaibu (Smart City); Uzochukwu Ezeobi (Zamfara United); Opeyemi Omoloye (Amure City); Frederick Benjamin (ABS FC); Monsuru Oyinmade (A&A Academy); Adegbite Emmanuel (Enyimba FC); Bolu Sholumade (Akwa United); Adamu Saidu (Water FC).

MIDFIELDERS: Anas Hassan (Vandrezzer FC); Okeowo Oluwaseyi (3SC); Shehu Sada (Nasarawa United); Promise Harrison (SuperStars Academy); Lawal Samson (Katsina United); Clinshak Longba (Plateau United); Aminu Muhammad (Gombe United); Abdulmajeed Ibrahim (Global FC); Onuche Ogbelu (FOSLA Academy); Jejeko Ola (Coment FC); Hussaini Garba (Maikunkele FC); Divine Nwachukwu (Adoration FC); Sulaiman Kirki (Kebbi United); Munir Idris ( Niger Tornadoes); Aminu Yahaya (Nnewi United); Tolulope Simon Ojo (Remo Stars); Muhammad Sambo Shehu (Katsina United)

FORWARDS: Emmanuel Ogbole (FC Basira); Ifeanyi Ogba (Lobi Stars); Sopurochukwu Kelechi (HP Academy); Henry Ndubuisi (Cydos FC); Ibrahim Yahaya (Gombe United); Aliyu Abdullahi (Nasarawa United); Ahmed Abdullah (HP Academy).

The tournament is the yardstick for qualication for the 2023 U-20 AFCON to be hosted by Egypt.

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a Reply

Translate »