Osimhen, Onuachu, Ndidi Battle For Nigeria’s Best Player Award In Abuja

Osimhen, Onuachu, Ndidi Battle For Nigeria’s Best Player Award In Abuja

 1,783 total views,  3 views today

By Amaechi Agbo

The trio of Super Eagles players, Victor Osimhen of Napoli, Italy; Wilfred Ndidi of Leicester City and Paul Onuachu of Genk will battle for the Nigeria Best player Award later this month, bestchoicesports.com.ng can report.

The 8th Nigeria Pitch Award will hold in a una on March 29, 2022 hours after Super Eagles World Cup play-off final leg against Black Stars of Ghana.

On 5th January in Lagos, the organizers unveiled the nominees for 17 award categories. Super Eagles’ star-boy Victor Osimhen will battle team-mates Paul Onuachu and Wilfred Ndidi for the King of the Pitch award.

Super Falcons’ trio of Asisat Oshoala, Uchenna Kanu and Gift Monday will duel for the Queen of the Pitch diadem.

President of the Nigeria Football Federation, Mr Amaju Melvin Pinnick gave thumbs up to the organizers of the Nigeria Pitch Awards as the eighth edition of the NFF –endorsed awards ceremony comes up at The Wells Carlton Hotel & Apartments, Asokoro, Abuja on Tuesday, 29th March 2022.

Launched in 2013 and driven by a corp of young and dedicated entrepreneurs, the Nigeria Pitch Awards has remained firmly among the most consistent, credible and trusted annual ceremonies to reward Nigerian football stars over the years.

Pinnick, said on Monday that the NFF continues to endorse the Pitch Awards because of the transparency of the awards’ processes and the integrity of the project.

“Awards are very important part of the sport. It helps to motivate, incentivize and energize the actors and actresses on the pitch. Beyond monetary rewards, awards are very special in that many, many years after, you can look at it either on the wall of your room or inside your cabinet and be proud of what you did while you were out there active in the business.

“I salute the bravery and perseverance of the President of Pitch Awards, Shina Phillips and his team. They are doing a great job that is helping the collective work of inspiring our players to more determined and greater performances in crucial matches and championships.”

This year’s awards ceremony takes place hours after the final leg of the FIFA World Cup playoff between the Eagles and the Black Stars at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium, Abuja.

Also to be honoured at the ceremony are Dr Aisha Muhammadu Buhari, wife of the President (who will receive Special Achievement in Sports award); Mrs Betsy Obaseki, First Lady of Edo State and; IGP Usman Alkali Baba, the Inspector-General of Police.

Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos, Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta and Ezenwo Nyesom Wike of Rivers will contend for the Football-Friendly Governor of the Year, while Kelechi Iheanacho joins Osimhen and Onuachu for the Striker of the Year contest.

NFF’s partners MTN, Air Peace and AITEO are in the ring for Corporate Sponsor of Football award.

Other categories are Goalkeeper of the Year; Defender of the Year; Midfielder of the Year; Team of the Year; Coach of the Year; Sam Okwaraji Award; State with Best Grassroots Football Development Programme; Football Pitch of the Year and; Football Journalist of the Year awards.

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a Reply

Translate »