AWCON Cancellation: Asisat Oshoala Condemns CAF For Taking Women Football Back

AWCON Cancellation: Asisat Oshoala Condemns CAF For Taking Women Football Back

 1,029 total views,  6 views today

By Amaechi Agbo

Africa Women’s Football of the Year, Asisat Oshoala has condemned the Confederation of Africa Football, CAF, over its decision to cancel the 2020 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations, reports.

Oshoala who plies her career with FC Barcelona’s Femeni took to her Twitter handle on Friday to condemn CAF’s decision to cancel only the female competition in the continent and allow others to hold.

CAF, following an emergency Executive Committee meeting on June 30, 2020 took several decisions in relation to football matters in the continent due to the ravaging COVID-19 pandemic.

Among the decisions reached were the postponement of the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations, AFCON and the cancelation of the 2020 AWCON.

CAF said the decision to cancel the 12th edition of the AWCON was “Due to challenging conditions.”

But the continent’s football ruling body announced that “The CAF Women’s Champions League will be launched in 2021,” adding that the “the format and other details will be communicated in due course.”

Reacting to the cancelation, the four-time Africa Women’s Footballer of the Year questioned why other competitions will go ahead while only AWCON would suffer the fate of cancellation.

Oshoala “thanked” CAF for making the world realise that female football is not important in Africa.

“Other competitions POSTPONED but AWCON “CANCELLED” thank you once again for making us realize women’s football isn’t important to you,” she said.

Going further, the former Rivers Angels and Liverpool Ladies striker said goodbye to all women national teams in Africa but asked CAF to prioritise women football and stop giving excuses

Super Falcons won the tournament in Ghana two years ago

“Congratulations on dragging us back AGAIN. Adios 👋🏾to all the women National teams in Africa. See y’all in 2022 #PrioritizeWomensFootball #NoExcuse,” she said.

Prior to its cancellation in June, the 2020 AWCON did not have a host as Republic of the Congo named as the hosts in September 2018 withdrew in July 2019.

Nigeria’s Super Falcons are the champions of the 11th edition of the AWCON. They beat rivals South Africa’s Bayana Bayana in Ghana on penalty in 2018 to win a record 9 trophies.

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a Reply

Translate »