CAF Women’s CL: NWFL Submits Rivers Angels As Nigeria Rep, Keep Delta Queens On Standby

CAF Women’s CL: NWFL Submits Rivers Angels As Nigeria Rep, Keep Delta Queens On Standby

 525 total views,  3 views today

By Amaechi Agbo

Nigeria Women Football League, NWFL Monday submitted Rivers Angels Football Club of Port Harcourt, Rivers State as Nigeria’s representative at the WAFU B CAF Women’s Champions League playoff even as it places Delta Queens on standby for second slot, can report

Rivers Angels Sunday emerged champions of the 2020/2021 NWFL league season with 11 points after they trashed Sunshine Queens 4-0 in one of the final matches played in Ijebu Ode in the Super 6 playoff

Delta Queens on their part came second after a 1-1 draw with FC Robo on same day with 9 points

On Monday, April 26, the NWFL beat the deadline set by CAF and WAFU B organisers for countries to submit names of their clubs representatives for the playoff after the Secretariat of the Nigeria Women Football League submitted to the Nigeria Football Federation, NFF the name of Rivers Angels Football club of Port Harcourt, as the Champion of the 2020/2021 NWFL Premiership season.

According to the letter the NFF General Secretary was expected to forward the letter to the Confederation of African Football WAFU Zone B, General Secretary, Mr. Balima, later Monday, thus meeting the deadline of April 26, 2021 set earlier by CAF.

NWFL said Monday in Lagos, that Nigeria has to take part in the Zonal play-off. The winner of the NWFL Premiership 2020-2021 Season will represent Nigeria in the Zonal play off.

“The country that wins the Zonal play off represents the Zone at the final tournament later in the year. Our League Champions will play in the WAFU B play off.

The organisers explained why Delta Queens name was not forwarded to WAFU B immediately.

“If Nigeria emerge as Zonal champions and are given the African Women Cup of Nations’ slot as champions, Nigeria may get two slots at the Final Tournament.

“This is possible because CAF has reserved one additional slot given to the Zone who produced the champion at the last edition of the AWCON for women.

“The Super Falcons of Nigeria won it at Ghana 2018 and we are in WAFU ZONE B. The modality for deciding who takes this slot is not known yet.

“Ordinarily, Nigeria who won it should be given the slot. This explained the second slot for Nigeria at the Women CAF Champions League.”

“The General Secretary of WAFU Zone B, Mr. Balima also disclosed in a correpondence that, the qualifiers will hold in Abidjan, Cote D’ Voire, from 15th July to 30th July, 2021 different from the May date that was earlier communicated.”

Six teams participated in the playoff held in Ogun state including Bayelsa Queens and Edo Queens.

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a Reply

Translate »
error: Content is protected !!