2022 WAFU Championship: Flying Eagles Depart Abuja For Niamey Today

2022 WAFU Championship: Flying Eagles Depart Abuja For Niamey Today

 2,592 total views,  3 views today

By Ebube Dike

Nigeria’s U-20 male national football team, the Flying Eagles will today jet out of Abuja to Niamey, Niger Republic, for the 2022 West Africa Football Union, WAFU Zone B Championship, bestchoicesports.com.ng can report.

The seven-time African champions have high expectations as they head to Niamey, capital of Niger Republic for this year’s WAFU B U20 Championship taking place in that country from 7th – 20th May.

The contingent made up of 28 players and other officials will will depart via Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja.

Nigeria’s contingent will fly into Niamey on Thursday and the Nigeria Football Federation has arranged two friendly matches in Niamey to put the team in premium shape and readiness for the competition proper.

Head Coach Ladan Bosso has selected a team of 30 players who will compete against Ghana’s Black Satellites and the Young Etalons of Burkina Faso in Group B. Hosts Niger Republic, Benin Republic, Togo and Cote d’Ivoire will battle in Group A.

The Flying Eagles will confront familiar foes Ghana in their first match of the competition on Sunday, 8th May, before they take on Burkina Faso three days later. Both matches hold at the General Seyni Kountche Stadium in Niamey.

Two teams will sail into the semi finals from each group, with the two finalists qualifying to represent the WAFU B zone at the 2023 Africa U20 Cup of Nations.

Egypt will host the 2023 Africa U20 Cup of Nations while Indonesia will host the 2023 FIFA U20 World Cup finals. All four semi finalists from the tournament in Egypt will qualify to represent Africa in Indonesia.


Goalkeepers: Nathaniel Nwosu (Water FC); Chijioke Aniagboso (Giant Brillars); Saheed Jimoh (Adoration FC)

Defenders: Opeyemi Omooloyi (Akure City); Abubakar Babaji (Niger Tornadoes); Lekan Oyedele (Remo Stars); Oluwatosin Adegbite (Enyimba FC); Augustine Njoku (Abia Warriors); Chikezie Okolie (Giant Brillars); David Sholumade (Akwa United); Benjamin Frederick (ABS FC)

Midfielders: Anas Hassan (Vandrezzer FC); Daniel Daga (FC One Rocket); Oluwaseyi Falodun (Jossy United); Samson Lawal (Katsina United); Onuche Ogbelu (Fosla Academy); Muhammad Aminu (Gombe United); Muhammad Shehu (Katsina United); Frederick Godwin (City FC)

Forwards: Adams Olubi (FK Zalgris Vilnius, Lithuania); Tolulope Ojo (Remo Stars); Ibrahim Muhammad (Maikunkele FC); Ibrahim Yahaya (Gombe United); Rilwanu Haliru Sarki (Mahanaim FC); Divine Nwachukwu (Adoration FC); Ahmed Abdullahi (HB Academy); Abdullahi Adam (Nasarawa United); Albert Hilary (Plateau United)

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a Reply

Translate »