CAF Names Rivers Angels, 7 Others For Women’s Champions League

CAF Names Rivers Angels, 7 Others For Women’s Champions League

 1,277 total views,  3 views today

By Amaechi Agbo

Nigeria Women’s Football League, NWFL Champions, Rivers Angels have been named among the 8 clubs that will take part in the maiden edition of the CAF Women’s Champions League due to start this year, can report.

CAF released the names of the 8 qualified teams on Monday after each region had concluded their play-offs.

“The eight teams that will participate in the inaugural CAF Women’s League competition in Egypt in November 2021 have been confirmed.
This follows regional qualification that saw the six CAF regions host preliminary qualifiers,” CAF said.

The eight teams are:

🇬🇶 Malabo King FC
🇬🇭 HasaacasLadies
🇿🇦 SundownsLadies
🇳🇬 Rivers_Angels
🇪🇬 wadideglafc
🇲🇱 AS Mandé
🇰🇪 Vihigaqueens

Rivers Angels qualified for the last 8 after they placed second at the WAFU B (West Africa Football Union) play-off in July

WAFU West Africa Football Union) A:

AS Mande (Mali): They won the first two editions of Mali women’s First Division league (2017, 2021) and the National Cup four times (2012, 2014, 2015, 2016).


Hasaacas Ladies FC (Ghana): Winner of the Regional Qualifiers, the club was founded in 1996 . They are four-time winners of Ghanaian League (2013, 2014, 2015, 2021) and won the 2021 National Cup.

Rivers Angels (Nigeria): They finished as runners-up of the Regional Qualifiers. Formed in 1986, they have won seven Nigeria Women’s League titles (1994, 2010, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2019, 2021) and eight National Cups (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018)

As the zone holder of the previous Women’s AFCON 2018, and in accordance to the competition Regulations as home of current champions of Women’s AFCON, WAFU B will have have two representatives:

COSAFA (Council of Southern Africa Football Associations):

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa): The club are the three-time winners of the South African Women’s Championship. They won their regional qualification recently in Durban, South Africa.

CECAFA (Council for East and Central Africa Football Associations):

Vihiga Queens FC (Kenya): The Kenyan side have enjoyed dominance in their domestic competition winning Kenya Women’s Premier League (FKF WPL) in 2017, 2018 and 2019.

UNAF (Union of North African Football):

ASFAR FC (Morocco): They are eight-time Morocco League champions (2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021) and seven-time winners of the National Cup known as ‘Throne Cup’ (2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019)

Wadi Degla FC (Egypt): They gained automatic qualification as hosts of the tournament. The Egyptian club won its 12th domestic title (Women’s Premier League) this year.
**They will have two representatives with Egypt being the second club as hosts.

UNIFFAC (Central African Football Federations’ Union)

Malabo King FC (Equatorial Guinea): Title holder of Equatorial Guinea’s Primera Division Femenina (Women’s National League) and TNO Cup, they won UNIFFAC’s regional qualifiers

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a Reply

Translate »