CAF Women’s Champions League Draws Hold In Abidjan Today

CAF Women’s Champions League Draws Hold In Abidjan Today

 999 total views,  3 views today

By Ebube Dike

The newly-formed CAF Women’s Champions League will take one giant leap towards realization on Monday, 5 July 2021 morning, when the first Zonal qualifier draw is conducted in Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire.

WAFU B will host the first Zonal draw that will see women’s football clubs from Togo, Niger, Ghana, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire and Nigeria in the mix contesting for a place in the maiden edition of CAF Women’s Champions League final competition to be played in Egypt.

The CAF Women’s Champions League competition is a new competition introduced by CAF to develop women’s football product in Africa. It will feature top teams from all over the continent.

To decide the teams that will participate at the final competition in Egypt later this year, Zonal Qualifiers will be played as eliminatory rounds.

River Angels FC won Nigeria Women Football League NWFL

The top six teams (one from each CAF Zone) and the host of the final tournament (Egypt) as well as one extra team from the Zone holding the title of the previous Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (2018) will qualify to the final tournament.

The draw in Abidjan on Monday will be conducted at 10h00 (local time).

The WAFU B teams that will take place in the draw are as follows:

Amis du Monde Football Club (Togo)
Association Sportive de la police (Niger)
Hasaacas Ladies Football Club (Ghana)
Union Sportive des forces Armees (Burkina Faso)
Rivers Angels Football Club (Nigeria)
Onze Soeurs de Gagnoa (Cote d’Ivoire)
Other Zonal Draws this week:

On Wednesday, 7 July 2021, UNAF will host their draw for the CAF Women’s Champions League:

The participating countries are: Morocco, Tunisia and Algeria. (Egypt, as the host nation for the final tournament of the Women’s Champions League, gets automatic qualification.)

On the same day (7 July 2021), CECAFA will host their draw as well:

The participating countries are: Burundi, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zanzibar.

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a Reply

Translate »