Niger Tornadoes Emerge Champions of 2020/2021 Nigeria National League

Niger Tornadoes Emerge Champions of 2020/2021 Nigeria National League

 1,629 total views,  3 views today

By Amaechi Agbo

Niger Tornadoes of Minna have emerged champions of the 2020/2021 Nigeria National League, NNL season, can report

The Ikon Allah boys defeated Shooting Stars football club from Oyo State at the NNL Super 8 play-off final at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, Enugu to win the crown.

Shamsudeen Hashim opened the goal account on the 9th minute when he finished a simple tap off Debo Fashanu’s freekick but the Ibadan Stars were not let down as they rallied 7 minutes later to equalise via penalty.

Debo Fashanu’ conceded a penalty in the 16th minute of the match which the highest goal scorer in the league, Olafimihan Gafar converted to restore parity

It ended all square at the interval.

Ahmadu Liman ensured that Tornadoes’ lead was restored when he powered home a sublime shot from the left flank to give his side a 2-1 advantage before adding his second in 72nd minute to provide cushion for their lead.

However, Lucky Jimoh of Shooting Stars ensured that the game went into a nervy finish after he scored in the 85th minute but it was too good too late as the Minna boys held on to clinch the coveted Trophy.

At the end of the NNL Super 8 play-off, Niger Tornadoes, Gombe United, Shooting Stars and Remo Stars all gained promotion to the 2021/2022 Nigeria Professional Football League, NPFL season.

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a Reply

Translate »