Akwa United, Lobi Missing As Club Owners Vote To End 2019/2020 NPFL Season

Akwa United, Lobi Missing As Club Owners Vote To End 2019/2020 NPFL Season

 618 total views,  3 views today

By Amaechi Agbo

Former Aiteo Cup winner, Akwa United as well as Lobi Stars of Makurdi abstained from voting as 17 out of 20 clubs Sunday voted to end the 2019/2020 Nigeria Professional Football League, Bestchoicesports.com.ng reports

The voting which was done in a meeting of the Club Owners Association of Nigeria and lasted for four hours, saw voting to end the season with the 3 top clubs go to represent Nigeria at CAF competitions via point per game, PPG table.

They also agreed that no team will be relegated and none will be promoted from the Nigeria National League.

That way, there would neither be promotion from the lower cadre nor relegation of any of the NPFL clubs. The clubs chieftains were asked to vote on options to end the season owing to the Covid-19 situation.

Enugu Rangers however voted to go for super six play off in which the top three clubs will go for CAF competitions.  Two Clubs Akwa United and Lobi Stars abstained from voting.

The seventeen clubs that voted for the season to end are: Kwara United, Kano Pillars, Katsina United, Jigawa Golden Stars and Adamawa United.

The others include Wikki Tourists, MFM, Sunshine Stars Enyimba, Warri Wolves and Abia Warriors. Others are Nasarawa United, FC IfenayiUbah,  Dakada, Heartland, Rivers United and Plateau United.

Plateau United lead the table with 49 points from 25 matches, Rivers United are 2nd with 45 points while Lobi Stars occupy the 3rd position with same number of games.

Rangers are 4th with 37 points from 24 matches while champions, Enyimba of Aba are 5th with 20 matches.

Nasarawa United, Jigawa Golden Stars, Kwara United and Adamawa United occupy the last four places from 17th to 20th, in that order.

About Best Choice Sports

Leave a Reply

Translate »